What Will You Risk For The First Time This Week?

I thought I was good at it.

Taking risks, I mean. I’ve certainly faced some fears (see my This Is Me page) and taking risks? Not a problem. Except this week…

The fear of an event is nearly always worse than the actuality, so I’ve read. I believe it’s true but I have to force myself to act on it sometimes.

I remember the waterfall in the Lake District.

We'll have to turn back

The roar of the torrent, the spray everywhere, the sheer height. I was overawed by it but somehow we had to cross over to the other side or else turn back.  I stood and stared, fear fluttering in my chest. 

As I stood there getting more and more scared, my attention was caught by a child in a red jacket, and his dog. He was running along, in front of his dad, clambering up the grassy path towards me, heading for the edge of the water fall. Then he disappeared from view and I assumed the path cotinued through the gorse bushes at the side.

I was still wondering whether we should turn back and take a different track, when there he was, on the other side of the waterfall, his red coat zig-zagging away and his dog following.

His dad was close by where I stood.

‘He’s crossed over! How on earth has he done it? Surely it’s too risky!’

He smiled.

‘We often come this way. If you go round the corner you’ll see the stepping stones! They’re slippery but it’s OK to cross if you take care!’

This week I’m taking a ‘risk’ with my blog.

I’ve decided to update this site and move on to the next stage of blogging.

Here’s how it’s going so far:

  • I decided I want to make the change.

Making the decision to make any change is often the easiest part. It’s only in your mind at this stage. No risk yet.

Writing it down can make it more real, so long as you don’t tell anyone, then you can still ‘turn round and go back’.

I did exactly this: I wrote down my plans to up-grade, but kept it to myself.

  • You seek support

If you’re scared to take the risk by yourself, look for someone to guide you.

Want to change career? Travel alone? Learn to ski? Write a novel? Talk to those who’ve’ been there, done it and got the t-shirt.’  I love this Danish Proverb: ‘He knows the water best who has waded in it.’

I did exactly this: One of my blogging friends, Arvind Devalia has indeed ‘been there, done it…’ and he is a consultant in this area. He will guide me through the whole process and I need have no fear.

  • What if?

Yes! I said it.

What if… I can’t manage the change?

OK, but what if I can, with Arvind’s expert help?

There’s always another way, just like the stepping stones that were hidden from our view that day. When we want to make a change or take a risk, it seems scary at first. But once you’ve thought it through, decided, and found support you’ll be so glad you did.

And, by the way, the view from the other side of the waterfall was stunning…

‘Take the first step in faith. You don’t have to see the whole staircase. Just take the first step.’

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Now it’s your turn.

What will you risk for the first time, this week ?

Header image by cursedthing, post image by 

7 Comments

Filed under action, anxious, change, failure, fear, plans, positive, progress, risk, safe, success

7 responses to “What Will You Risk For The First Time This Week?

  1. Christine

    Good luck, Linda. I’m sure your new web site will be a roaring success. I look forward to visiting when you are up and running…

    Strangely, I’m thinking about just this subject myself but my problem(?) is identifying the risk!!! I’ve carved out such a cosy, safe niche for myself that I’m now in need of a challenge, a risk, just to get the old adrenalin pumping …

  2. Linda, I love your story, your quotes, and your photo. You gently lead me through it all. It’s so true that the anticipation is worse than the journey.

    “You don’t have to see the whole staircase.” I usually want to have everything figured out before I jump in, yet with blogging that is impossible. I can’t possible see the whole staircase. I’ve taken the steps, and I keep on stepping.

    I took a risk this week and published (per Leo’s suggestion) without proofreading, it is was liberating. Of course, I went back to edit later. But it wasn’t as scary as I thought to be imperfect :)

    You have my curiosity peaked, what are you changing? I guess I’ll have to stay tuned :)

    • Morning Marci!
      So pleased it rang true for you. I haven’t quite taken Leo’s speedy publishing risk, but now perhaps I will!
      The change I’m making is to go for a self hosted blog, with the Thesis theme. I had no idea how to go about it but Arvind is sorting it for me. Today I have to work on what image and feel I want for my site and by the end of today hope I’ll have some ideas written down for him and for the header image designer. It’s very scary but I do want to move forward with my blog and take it to the next level. If you have any thoughts to help I’d be excited to read them!

      • Linda,

        I’m not self-hosted either. I have the free version of word press. I recently changed the theme to allow for more widgets, footers, bigger fonts, and header image. I also bought my own domain name for $12 a year plus $5 to have the old blog domain redirected to the new domain. It sounds like you are in good hands :)

        And, I found the headline animator at Feedburner (to add to my website). There are so many little gadgets out there. I also downloaded for free Windows Live Writer, and use this to write/format my blog. Then, it publishes it for me on word press with a click of the button. This is my limited technical gadgetry knowledge :)

        I wish you the best, and will be reading more from you…

      • Thanks Marci,

        Arvind is working hard on my account and yes, I’m in good hands. The new site will be ready just before we go away on Dec 13th so I’ll really be able to fiddle about with it on our return at the end of December. An exciting start for 2011!

  3. PS Marci – I just subscribed. Love your rotating feedburner titles!

Leave a Reply

