How To Customise Your Christmas and Cut the Stress

Do you sometimes feel it’s all too much?

Do you feel caught in a Christmas trap?

I used to. I worried about every aspect of the approaching ‘Festive Season’, feeling far from festive. And then my son, who knew how I was feeling said this:

‘Mum, why don’t you choose the parts of Christmas that you like and leave the parts you don’t like? You don’t have to do all of it!’

I was reminded of when I bought my new Mini.

I knew the colour I wanted but that was it. The salesman had to talk me through how I could customise my new car. He explained which features came as ‘Standard’ and then presented me with choices for all the rest of the spec. Bit by bit I built up the picture of the car I wanted, choosing fabric or leather seats, interior and exterior colours, automatic or gear shift and so on.

The Mini I collected bore very little resemblance to the one in the brochure because I’d chosen how I wanted it to be. I’d ‘customised it’.

You can do this with the Christmas holiday.

 There are no rules apart from the fact that we all celebrate (or not) on the same day. You do need to be positive and assertive (not arrogant) but with a bit of practise, you can do this!

What comes as ‘standard’?

  • A day for giving gifts
  • Food
  • Decorations
  • A tree
  • Cards
  • Family time
  • Parties
  • Carols

You will want to add more to my list but let’s look at the first three.

How to customise.

  • Gifts.

You need to get ahead on this one, if you’re going to change from the ‘standard’ requirements. If you want to change who you buy for, perhaps only for children and not for adults, let people know your intentions well in advance, to avoid embarrassment or upset. It’s not easy to change a long-established routine but it is possible to do it if you are sure that’s what you want to do.

You could write down what you’ll say and even practise saying it until you’re confident.

  • Food

Ok, so the turkey roast followed by Christmas pud, mince pies, large amounts of cream and custard, is fairly ‘standard’. But you can customise!

Christmas food should be special. That get’s hard to do when we have the ridiculous amounts of ‘special’ food in the shops all year round.

One way to customise your Christmas food is to choose your favourites. If you love fillet steak but it’s a rare treat, or your mother is coming and her favourite is steak and kidney pie then that’s what you have! Try to have the food that’s a ‘treat’ for as many of your guests as possible.

If you choose to spend the day with your OH then it’s easy to have your favourite food but it can still be done with the family. Not everyone wants turkey when they can have it on any day of the year.

  • The family.

Not so easy to customise but not impossible. Here are a few suggestions:

Decide, well in advance, where you and your family want to be for Christmas. At home? On holiday? At your parents? Your parents at yours? Once it’s decided, stick to it. A few feathers might be ruffled but there’s no rule that says you have to do what you always do. You can change the habit, if it’s a habit you don’t like…

Do you spend much of the holiday driving your children to see step – parents, grandparents, divorced parents, so much so that everyone’s bad-tempered and the children hate it? If it’s what you want to do, and most importantly, if it’s what the children want to do, fine. If not, decide how to customise.

It’s about forward planning. It’s about taking the ‘I ought’ out of the equation and replacing it with ‘I’m happy to’.

I was delighted, and still am, with my beautiful blue Mini. Every time I drive it I smile. (Except in snow.) It suits me fine but I know it wouldn’t be everyone’s choice.

You can customise Christmas, to suit your capabilities, needs, emotions and stress levels.  It’s not selfish in a bad way, it’s simply deciding what you can cope with. As my son said, so wisely, you can include the parts you love and leave out the parts that concern you. That way, you might even enjoy it!

How do you deal with the varying ‘obligations’ of the Christmas season?

Are you changing things this year?  

 Have you ‘customised’ Christmas?

Do pass on your hints and tips.

 

Header by cursedthing, post image by the mullett, on Flickr.

9 Comments

Filed under action, adjust, anxiety, change, expectation, fear, hope, plans, positive, progress, success, timing

9 responses to “How To Customise Your Christmas and Cut the Stress

  1. Christine

    Morning Linda… I like your ideas very much and have tried in the past to do something similar but my family are so resistent! No-one under 30 and yet they all want exactly what they had as kids, including silly crackers! Never mind, it is only one day…

  2. Cool ideas. Last Christmas I was blessed with a great gift from God, my first daughter, our cute angel. BTW, I like blue color too, but don’t have a mini cooper :)

  3. Here are the odds & ends for me: I haven’t put up the tree yet! I am trying to shorten the holiday season for our family.

    While I do have 3 weekends of family gatherings, we don’t travel on Christmas Day.

    I’ve bought almost all our presents online, and I’m almost done shopping. I am doing one thing at a time. I prioritized my list, and whatever I don’t get to, just won’t happen. I will be able to let it go :)

    • Looks like you’ve got it sorted Marci. My blog is being upgraded at the moment (hope you’ll stay with me!)and I have to get posts writen for the holiday period so my list is pretty long. As you say, one thing at a time…

      • So you are writing now and scheduling them to publish while you are traveling? That does sound like a lot of work. If I got swamped, I rewrite an article that I wrote for my practice newsletter – at least then I’m not starting from scratch. Have a great time traveling…

        My 3 year old just told me to “turn your computer off or I’m choosing for you.” Don’t you love it when kids give us a taste of our own medicine?!

      • I guess I could look through some of my early posts and see what I can rewrite! Great time saver! Thanks Marci.

Leave a Reply

