Who Wants to Time Travel With Me?

‘Oh please, dad! Please!’

Dad slowly opens our back door. It’s dark but I can see the flakes in the beam of the outside light.

‘Oh, wow! It is! It is!’

My brother and I squeak and squeak and my face is one enormous grin.

Next morning the snow is really deep. The cat refuses to set paw outside but we can’t wait. Dad gets the wooden sledge he made us, out of the shed and we pull on hats and gloves and scarves. 

Magical. But not just when I was a child.

It was magical today.  

We pulled on our hats, gloves and scarves but this time I had my OH with me, not my brother. We trudged up the lane, stopping every few minutes to exclaim at the beauty around us. Everything seemed to be wearing a ‘hat’, every twig and every fence post. Birds danced and darted, searching for a drink, dogs were up to their tummies in snow and parked cars were shrouded in white fur puffer jackets.

Then came the best bit!

We joined our neighbours and their children who were sledging on an open slope on the edge of the village. Brightly coloured sledges contrasted with the white-out, flasks of coffee steamed and wet gloves were abandoned.

‘Want to have a go, Linda?’

One of our friends was laughing as he offered me his child’s sledge. To his, and my, surprise I heard myself say, ‘Love to!’ and I sat down and grabbed the rope, with the confidence and fearlessness of a child. He gave me a push and I was off, shrieking and squealing down the slope. I was Time Travelling, ten years old again, loving the chill on my cheeks, not a care in the world.

Watch out! There's a child about!

I will remember today because…

  • I re-discovered my inner child
  • I delighted in my sense of fun
  • I took pleasure in the small things
  • I smiled at everyone and they smiled back
  • I noticed every twig, branch, roof top, fence, gate, paw-print
  • I spoke to every one and they spoke back
  • I ignored the slushy stuff in the road
  • I lived every second of this amazing day
  • I marvelled at my world

Hold on a minute!

Why can’t I do all those things every day?

I think I can.

And, I’m sure, so can you.

When did you last Time Travel and re-discover your inner child?

What do you wish you could still enjoy that you enjoyed back then?

9 Comments

Filed under confidence, happiness, instincts, positive, risk, safe

9 responses to “Who Wants to Time Travel With Me?

  1. Christine

    What a lovely, evocative post, Linda. I wish I could recapture and hold on to that lovely feeling too. Instead I am infested with fears and worries that come with being a grown up … right now the fear of falling in the snow or on ice or sliding the car into a wall or a ditch have me gripped (thanks to past experience) so I can’t enjoy the beauty of the snow… ho hum!

    • I know it can’t be magical for everyone and accidents are awful but I’m such a romantic optimist I can still appreciate the beauty. I’m lucky to live here and not in a grimy city. But I bet even a grimy city can look magical! The food shopping will just have to wait for today though.

  2. Christine

    You are right, Linda…we should look for the beauty and the magical whenever possible and not let the other stuff get in the way. I’ll think of you out in the snow having fun … enjoy!!!

  3. Linda, I love this post. What a great visual story you told :) I took my kids sledding last year for the first time in their young lives. And, I think I had more fun then they did! I laughed so hard. I was sore and wiped out, but it was so worth it.

    I wish I was more spontaneous and had less time limits. This week I got out of the office, had lunch and did a little Christmas shopping. While it wasn’t anything like sledding, it was great to enjoy some time outside of the office on a work day. I’m only in the office 2 1/2 days a week, so I usually work, work, work. It made such a difference in my week!

    • Hello Marci, It makes such a difference to be spontaneous. Sometimes it’s only for a few minutes but they are worth the world. Simply changing my ‘routine’ works wonders for me, too.

  4. Every time you write, I follow. even bookmarked your blog, never reply tho, but *thumbs up* קידום אתרים

  5. I love this post and how you made me look back — thaks Linda!
    What first comes to mind is my overwhelming happiness and big smile when I finally ride the bike on my own without falling down! Simply freedom! :)

Leave a Reply

