Day 10 Have A Sweet Smelling Life – Walk Away From The Drains and

The phone rings. 

As soon as you hear the voice, gloom descends. Your heart sinks, your shoulders slump. You know exactly what’s coming.

She wants you to babysit, go shopping, arrange to meet. Shouldn’t be a problem… but it is.  Because you know you’ll feel shattered at the end of it.  Fed up. Drained.

The phone rings again. As soon as you hear the voice you start to smile. Your heart sings, your shoulders lift. You know exactly what’s coming. She wants you to babysit, go shopping, arrange to meet. And it’s not a problem. because you know you’ll feel uplifted at the end of it. Warmed. Enlivened.

I wish I could say I’d coined the expression, ‘Drains and Radiators’. It was passed on to me by a friend, but it’s sooo useful when it comes to talking about confidence issues.

In my view, our confidence is directly affected by the people we choose to be with.

We need to see much more of the Radiators and try to politely excuse ourselves from seeing too much of the Drains.

TODAY’S TASK

  • Think carefully about the people in your life. Which are they?
  • Choose to see more of the Radiators. Be proactive. Get in touch. Arrange to meet.
  • Try to distance yourself from the Drains.
  • Prepare some ‘excuses’ or delaying strategies for when they ask you to meet up.

Oh yes. Food for thought…

Which are YOU?

2 Comments

Filed under Confidence Coaching

2 responses to “Day 10 Have A Sweet Smelling Life – Walk Away From The Drains and

  1. Carsma

    I am a radiator, always used by drains, well I was. Counselling has made me stop the drains, except one and it does make one feel empowered to some extent. I do still feel guilty sometimes, but I’m glad I rid myself of the drains, they affected my whole life.

    Carsma x

  2. Hi Carsma,
    Getting rid of the Drains does work, doesn’t it!
    I think we all feel guilty at letting ‘friends’ go but when your life is no longer enriched by them it has to happen.

    Thanks for joining in!

Leave a Reply

