3rd Thing to Stop – and Keep Your Confidence Habit

3.  Stop Comparing!

Life is not a race

Easy for me to say, I know.

It often starts at school, with all that Negative Feedback.

How I remember the sinking feeling in my stomach as the Maths test results were announced in front of every one. How I wished the ground would open and swallow me up.

I was never up there with the A grade students.

And how I envied them their apparent perfection. For that’s what it was. of course. No-one can possibly be confident in all areas.

My best friend is an amazing cook.

I used to compare myself to her all the time.

Until I realised  there was no point.

Cooking is simply not one of my skills.

But I have others!

You must be your own ‘best friend’.

Treat yourself as you would treat her/him. Notice all your ‘goodstuff’, your skills and strengths. Leave all those other skills to everyone else!

TODAY’S TASK

  • Notice all your ‘good stuff.’
  • Give yourself some well- earned praise.
  • Relax and be confident in the skills you know you have.

‘Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do. 

John Wooden

Leave a comment

Filed under Confidence Coaching, failure, progress, success

Leave a Reply

