9 Things I Wish I Could Tell My 20 Something Self (And One More)

9 Things I wish I could tell my ‘Twenty Something’ self

about How To Be An OK Mum

and One More

Shhh! 

Don’t say a word, but…

my lovely son will be …

ummmm….

 errrr…..

It’s no good, I’ll just have to come right out and say it…

…. 40 years old on July 5th!

 

 How ancient does that make me feel!

I remember when I thought 40 was OLD… and now….

 Seriously though, if I could go back in time and talk to my young self, just before he was born, I’d say this-

1.   It’s OK to be an ‘OK mum’.

It’s all you’ll ever be.  A child doesn’t come with a handbook. You have to make it up as you go along. 

2.  Follow your instincts.

Listen to yourself. You’ll know if he’s uncomfortable, hungry or tired by the noise (and I’m not just talking about babies here!) You’ll learn to read the signs… eventually… like every other mum…

3.   Ask for help when you’re not sure what to do. 

There’s plenty out there.

And then… do what YOU think is best.

 4.   Try not to live your life through your child.

I hear so many mums say,’I want him to have what I never had.’

But perhaps that won’t be what HE wants. 

5.   Let him choose his own path.

Don’t get caught up in all the competition between other mums about how well their children are doing.

 He’ll do what he will do.

And that’s it.

6.   Decide on the boundaries and stick to them.

My children have told me that they wanted boundaries. 

Doesn’t mean they’ stuck to them though…

7.   Praise his achievements but don’t over do it.

They know ‘sincere’ when they hear it…

8.   Help him to learn  that failure is simply a step on the road to success.

Perhaps he wasn’t ready for that particular challenge,

perhaps it was unrealistic,

perhaps he simply wasn’t motivated.

Life’s like that. 

9.   Don’t overfill his time.

Does he really WANT to play cricket,

AND football

AND learn guitar

AND join Computer Club AND…

Or are you simply finding it hard to resist keeping up with the mums at the school gate?

 Reading this through, I realise that all of the above don’t just apply to being an OK mum, but to being an OK person…

  1. It’s OK to be… OK
  2. Follow your instincts
  3. Ask for help
  4. Be your true self
  5. Choose your own path
  6. Decide on your own life rules
  7. Acknowledge your achievements
  8. Accept that failure is good
  9. Don’t over fill your time

 Food for thought…

 What about you ?

What would you like to say to your ‘Twenty Something’ self?

Feel free to add your ‘One More’ below.

 

I was inspired to write this post after reading Marc’s post –

’18 Things I wish Someone Told me When I was eighteen.’

 Do pop over and read it. Marc and Angel’s site is very special.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under action, change, expectation, failure, goals, happiness, hope, instincts, persistence, plans, positive, realistic, safe, success, timing

2 responses to “9 Things I Wish I Could Tell My 20 Something Self (And One More)

  1. As I read through your passages I have learned many things that I should incorporate in my being an ok-dad to my little boy. He’s so young and I want to do my best for him. 🙂

  2. Thanks for joining in, Walter.
    I’m pleased that you found my post helpful.
    Hope to see you here again!

Leave a Reply

