Who’re You Looking At?

I came face to face with one of these the other day.

It’s odd,

making eye-contact

with a squirrel.

It stares,

unmoving,

taking me in.

It seems ages

that we gaze at one another,

but it probably isn’t,

both relishing the experience.

Alert at first,

no sign of fear,

confident, looking at me,

listening,

it shows me trust

but not for long.

Something spooks it,

it scampers off

to safety.

It wasn’t afraid…

and then it was.

As I watched the squirrel , made eye contact with it, I got to thinking about how often I make eye – contact, with people, as opposed to squirrels.

It’s pretty exposing but it does make the other person feel important.  I’m giving them my full attention.

Just four or five seconds is enough – no-one likes to be stared at – but it helps a relationship to flourish when we show our trust.

Just like the squirrel and me.

Why not try it with the next person you meet and tell us how it feels?

Leave a comment

Filed under action, expectation, fear, happiness, positive, progress, safe

Leave a Reply

