9 First Impressions… And 1 Thought… About This Blog

The more I consider the topic – First Impressions – the more I want to write about it!

Over on Big Girl Branding, I was reading a guest post by Steve Lazuka. He’s writing about the impressions visitors might get from our blogs and it started me thinking about mine.

I’ve been blogging since March this year but I know I still have lots to learn.

I decided to look at this blog as a first time visitor might and ponder on how I have portrayed myself and my niche.

Here’s what I found:

  1. I’ve tried to make my blog a bit different so that people will want to return and read some more. I try to do this by writing in a style that reflects my personality, taking a quirky look at life.
  2. I use a photo for the heading that reflects my Positive Spin personality and I will change the photo from time to time.
  3. I have tried to make the blog user-friendly and approachable by using a clean theme from Word Press.
  4. I write as if I’m meeting  my reader in person, being honest in my views.
  5. I don’t pretend to be an expert, simply a Confidence Coach who learns every day from her experiences.
  6. I want to be helpful, useful, interesting and encouraging to my reader.
  7. I try not to clutter the site with unnecessary ‘stuff’ so that my reader isn’t confused.
  8. I chose my photo to be as honest as possible, giving the true ‘picture’of who I am.
  9. I write about a variety of topics and hope to meet the reader’s needs.

And 1 Thought?

What would you like me to add/subtract from this site to improve and develop it?

All (polite!) suggestions will be noted and acted upon if I can.

Over to you… feel free… !

 

4 Comments

Filed under action, adjust, change, expectation, goals, plans, positive, progress, realistic, success

4 responses to “9 First Impressions… And 1 Thought… About This Blog

  1. Hey Linda! Thanks for the link love. 🙂 I think your blog is great, simple, clean, well-organized… achieving the goals you set out for based on your post. 🙂 My one suggestion would be put share links easily visible before or after each post. Twitter, FB, etc. The share link in the sidebar isn’t readily apparent, and if folks don’t click it they may not realize there are more ways to share than just via email.

    c

  2. Thanks for the encouragement, Cori.
    I’ll look into moving the ‘link’ icon, not sure if WordPress enables that.

    Now I’m going to try the ‘7 Link Challenge’ from
    over on Copyblogger…

    Watch this space…

  3. Yeah I’ve been meaning to check that out myself! lol Thanks for the reminder. 🙂 And yes, there are plugins that allow you to do all those things.. beauty of wp! BGB is built on wp as well!

    I use Facebook Like Button For WordPress plugin for FB and Topsy Retweet button plugin for Twitter. I also have SexyBookmarks that allows you to share on just about any network you want, you can specify. 🙂 All three you can put at the end or beginning of a post, and it makes it easier for people to pass on the love.

    C

  4. I’m on to it…

    It took ages to do the Challenge but I’m posting it tomorrow!
    It was a real insight for me.
    Linda

Leave a Reply

