How To Scare Yourself About Nothing

Night Fear

 

One a.m.   

Frozen.   

Rigid in my bed.   

Shadowy dark.   

Daren’t   

put out my hand   

into nothingness,   

in case,   

in case…   

    

I move   

my fingers,   

feel cool air,   

touch the sheet,   

waiting,   

waiting…   

for it   

to grab,   

to tug,   

to swallow   

my breath.   

    

Gradually   

I move   

my eyes,   

blink,   

blink,   

sliding my hand   

out,   

into   

nothingness.   

    

I breathe  out   

at last.   

Snail like   

I lift my hand   

and reach   

for the light.   

Wide eyed   

I stare   

and   

there’s nothing   

there.   

Do you scare your self about ‘nothing’?  

How do you face your fears?  

    

My Positive Spin on fear comes tomorrow…    

    

After I wrote this piece I read my friend Ken’s piece about Irrational Fears. You might want to pop across and take a look.   

http://kenjonesaia.wordpress.com/

2 Comments

Filed under action, anxiety, anxious, expectation, fear, instincts, risk

2 responses to “How To Scare Yourself About Nothing

  1. Linda,

    Thanks for the plug of my blog. Night Fear sounds a bit irrational as well. Will you elaborate tomorrow?

    Ken

  2. I’m on to it right now, Ken!

Leave a Reply

