What to Do When You Don’t Know What To Say

He was outside the station, waiting.  

He looked awkward, embarrassed even, clutching a bunch of roses wrapped in brown paper, standing first on one foot, then the other, unable to relax.  

Commuters hurried past, looking at the ground or straight ahead, avoiding his gaze, plugged in to their i-pods, or on the phone.  

Do they give flowers?  

To send an unspoken message ?  

  • ‘I’m sorry…’
  • ‘I love you…’
  • ‘I remembered…’
  • ‘Thank you…’
  • You’re special..’

or simply ‘I don’t know what to say…’  

I was in the park with a friend.  

I pointed out the dandelions to her little boy.  

  

‘I’m sure mummy would love some flowers!’ I said.  

He soon had some clutched in his hot hands, anxiously stowing them in his push chair.  

‘We can put them in a little pot for her!’ he cried and hurried off to pick some more.  

When I drove away from the station that day, the young guy was still waiting.  

I hope his flowers said the words he wanted to say.  

I’m sure the dandelions said the words the child was too young to say…  

   

Love you, mum...

 

What do you do when you don’t know what to say?

Leave a comment

Filed under action, expectation, happiness, hope, success, timing

Leave a Reply

