What I Learnt About Self Belief From The Man With The Sheet of Glass

‘What on earth?’
‘Surely  not…’
‘He must be crazy!’

Once again, on my way to the station to meet my OH, something caught my eye –      

a man carrying an enormous sheet of glass       

 along a busy main road, on a crowded pavement, at 6pm.      

The image stayed with me as I drove on and I began thinking,      

  • What if…  the inevitable happened?
  • What would he do?
  • Would anyone stop to help?
  • Would the glass shatter into the road?
  • Would passing moronic drunks try to make him drop it, ‘just for a laugh’?

I realised that he wasn’t thinking about any of those possibilities, he simply needed to carry the sheet of glass to  its destination.      

 The sheet of glass was taller that he was. It had a red frame around it so you could see where the glass ended, but that was it, a plain sheet of glass.      

Why was he doing this?      

  • Was he replacing a broken window?
  • Did he want to see clearly again?
  • Was it for a brand new window, to let more light into his home?

       

Here’s what I learnt from the man with the sheet of glass.      

  • I need to be sure about where I’m going , at least for today.
  • I need to be determined to get there, despite obstacles.
  • I need to believe I’ll succeed.
  • I need to let the light in, so I can see where to go next. 

       

Do you know this song by Johnny Nash?      

‘I can see clearly now, the rain has gone.      

I can see all obstacles in my way.      

Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind.      

It’s gonna be a bright, bright Sun-shiny day!’      

       

Think about this .      

  • Do you know where you’re going today/tomorrow?
  • Are you determined to get there?
  • Do you believe you will?
  • Will you let the light in once you arrive so you can see where to go next? 

I can see clearly now...

 

Have you seen the yellow star ‘Like’  button?    

It’s right at the end, before the Comments bit.   

Don’t be shy – every ‘Like’ will make my day!

4 Comments

Filed under expectation, failure, fear,, goals, hope, persistence, positive, risk, safe, success

4 responses to “What I Learnt About Self Belief From The Man With The Sheet of Glass

  1. carsma

    Not sure about that, yes I try and see my way each day, doesn’t always work and yes, I remember the song well and yes, I try and do that too, just doesn’t always work. Great thought for the day though.

    Carsma x

  2. Christine

    A day at a time is as much as I can ever see – would like it to be longer but never quite happens…it must be great to be someone with a five year plan that actually happens!

    Thought-provoking as always, Linda! Thank you…

    • I’m sure it’s rare for 5 year plans to work out. Surely they have to be adjusted as circumstances change. I tend to go from week to week and don’t always manage that! I guess it’s good to actually go through the motions of thinking things out and then be prepared to change direction…

Leave a Reply

