6 Reasons Failure Is Good For You (Part One)

I’m failing spectacularly at the moment. 

But I’m learning loads. 

I’m writing a book.  

And I’ve learnt so much along the way. 

I’ve failed at each stage of working  on the book, but guess what? 

I’ve found 6 Positive Spins in the process!  

6 Reasons Why Failure Is Good For You. 

You won’t want to read them all at once so I’ll just tell you about two today. 

More next week. 

from Lazurite on Flickr

 

  Failure Is Good For You Because: 

1.   …failure takes you down new paths. 

I never intended to write my book. I wrote an article for the paper and in my research I came across an ancient (150 years old) school log book. I sent in my prized article but they didn’t print it… 

I moaned and groaned and spluttered into my cold coffee but there it was. 

Rejected.  

Failed.  

When I picked myself up and dusted myself down, something made me take another look at the old log book. And a germ of an idea for a whole new writing project was born… 

If my article had been accepted, I would never have come up with the new project.  

There’s always a new path to take. When you come across an obstacle, a road block, a disappointment, look for another path, another way, another solution. It’s there, right under your nose… 

2.   …failure stops you being arrogant. 

I was busy, busy, busy on my book. I’d spent many days deciphering the faded copperplate writing, typing it into a Word document. I was so tired. 

And then it happened. 

It was the end of a dark, winter’s day and I was just about to switch off my laptop when… I lost all the work of the day. 

ALL OF IT! 

Failed. 

Again. 

When I eventually calmed down, as you do, I was mortified. because: 

I knew it was all down to me. 

My mistake. My arrogance. My failure. 

Sleep came to my rescue. It healed my hurt pride. I woke next day, determined to catch up. 

And I re-set the auto save… 

  

Failure happens for a reason. 

And it’s usually your own fault. 

Failed the exam? 

Why? 

Not enough revision? 

Too many late nights? 

Thought you could ‘wing it’? 

No… you weren’t ready. You hadn’t done the work. You were arrogant. 

In my view, most of my failures have been down to me. My fault. No-one else to blame. 

How do you view your ‘failures’? 

Have you learnt from them? 

Has failure been good for you? 

  

 

6 Comments

Filed under adjust, change, excuses,, failure, hope, persistence, positive, progress, realistic

6 responses to “6 Reasons Failure Is Good For You (Part One)

  1. failures
    feel yours
    learned so bad
    but it’s all good
    i felt peace
    when i said
    ‘this is mine
    i’ll take care of this!’
    🙂

  2. christine

    Failure is such a harsh word and true failure makes me feel awful. So I really try to find another way to look at the outcome when something doesn’t go according to plan. Perhaps I’m just a natural spin-doctor!!!

    I’m glad to hear that you are developing the original article into something bigger, Linda, and look forward to reading your hard work when it’s published! Good luck with it – and don’t forget to hit the ‘save’ button before you close the file!!!

    • I agree it’s a harsh word Christine, perhaps we should think of a better one. Any ideas?

      I’m on the last stages of the book now, have just found a ‘real life’ designer to design the most important part of any book, the cover!

      You’ll hear my ‘eeeeeks’ when it’s ready….

  3. Failure happens for a reason, perhaps. But only if you are doing. Doing something. Taking action. Better that than doing nothing. Congratulations to you for tackling the book – for taking those new paths! Your fault? Hmm… sometimes. But who’s prepared for every eventuality? If we attempted that, we’d never begin. This was a great story to share Linda! And gutsy… you might say you’re not the heroine in this story. But… I think you are. ~Theresa

  4. A very reassuring comment, thanks Theresa. You’re right, action is the key to change and to progress, however slow it might seem. Obstacles are there simply to give us a problem to solve…

Leave a Reply

