Ditch Your Addiction…And Help Solve A Huge Problem

‘Oh no! It’s absolutely pouring!’

‘I’ve just hung out my washing!’ (Yes, some of us in the UK still do that!)

‘I’ll get soaked, just walking to the car!’

Sound familiar?

It’s a UK habit.

We love to  moan about our weather, especially the rain.

I want to shout, ‘For goodness sake! It’s not life threatening! It’s only water!’

Wrong!

Lack of water, and lack of clean water is life-threatening.

I read this yesterday and I was shocked:

Please make the time to go over to this site and read more about the world’s water problem. You’ll be shocked too.

Today, Friday October 15th, is Blog Action Day.

The world’s bloggers from 125 countries are joining forces and blogging about the same issue on the same day, to promote discussion and action by as many people as possible.

This year’s issue is Water.

When I read about the world’s serious water problems I wondered how I could possibly help when the problem is so huge.

It’s easy to say, ‘How can I make a difference?’ and leave it to the ‘powers that be.’

But the more I thought about it, the more it dawned on me, that if everyone thought that way,  no major changes would ever happen.

By joining in with all the thousands of bloggers world-wide and posting about the water problem on the same day, at least I’m doing something, however small.

Tap water, in disguise…

In this ‘Positive Spin’ post for B.A.D. 2010, I will write about the problem of bottled water addiction.

I don’t understand why a bottle of water (the ‘correct’ brand, naturally, or should I say, un-naturally?) has become a fashion accessory.

Whatever next?

Bottled ‘fresh air’?

It’s become an addiction.

Why?

I wish someone would explain it to me…

 Every time I see someone carrying their wretched plastic icon, I want to go up to them and say,

‘Are you dehydrated? It’s not even warm today. Are you about to collapse from thirst?’

But of course I don’t, I simply glare and walk on by.

According to an article on the site above, one third of bottled water comes from exactly the same source as tap water. In fact, the ‘Big Three’ water bottlers in the US use municipal water as the basis for their product, selling it back to us at hundreds of times the cost.

And the majority of the plastic bottles cannot be re-cycled…

Silly, isn’t it.

Here’s How YOU Can Help Solve a Huge Problem.

  • Drink your water from the tap.
  • If you don’t like the taste, use a simple water filter.
  • I find tap water tastes much better with some lemon or lime slices in, and perhaps some ice.
  • If you must carry water with you, re-use a bottle and fill it with tap water or from your  jug in the fridge.
  • If you do buy water in a bottle, check the bottle can be  recycled.
  • Read about the world-wide water problem and look for simple ways that you can make a difference.
  • And finally…Ditch your addiction!

‘The jug fills, drop by drop.

The Buddha’

 

What will you do to help with this huge water problem?

There are lots of ideas on the site I linked to above.

What do you think about our addiction to bottled water?

Do tell us in the comments.

New here?

If you liked this post and would like to read more, why not join my ‘Spinners’ and subscribe for my regular posts?

Header image courtesy of cursedthing.

8 Comments

Filed under action, change, excuses,, goals, hope, persistence, plans, positive, progress, success

8 responses to “Ditch Your Addiction…And Help Solve A Huge Problem

  1. Yeah I don’t get why bottled water is so “cool”. Is it because we value something more when we pay for it directly? And what about if we are visiting – somehow a host thinks it’s not enough to offer water from the tap/faucet.

    I’ve been known to use bottled water, but only when I am too lazy to fill bottles for all the members of my household when we are going somewhere. These days, thankfully, my teens are old enough, and wise enough, to fill their own water bottles.

    • Hi Alison,
      It has to be a ‘peer pressure’ thing. It’s really got out of hand, a compulsory accessory…

      I always ask for ‘tap’ when in a restaurant and no-one seems to mind.

  2. Hi Linda,

    I drink bottled spring water just because it tastes better–or has no taste, I should say–than tap water, in general. For me, growing up with untreated well water in the mountains makes me especially aware of the chemical taste of tap water.

    There’s also the controversial issue of flouride in tap water around here. Not to mention Prozac and all sorts of prescription drugs that are in tap water both in Europe and the US.

    Bottled water is also convenient while traveling out and about if I didn’t think to bring my own, which I usually do. Plus, on a hot day, around town, out walking, biking, skating etc, an ice cold bottle of water is about the only thing I want. Better than buying a soda or something sweet, in my opinion. Dehydration and heat stroke is a risk when it’s 90-100F.

    Drinking water is a good thing; it’s good to stay hydrated on a hot day. Plus I just get thirsty, any time. I don’t feel good if I don’t have enough water.

    I don’t see it as a fashion accessory. I see it as a part of a healthy diet. Best bet is to bring it from home in our own bottles, though recycling is a good thing too (around here the plastic bottles get recycled).

    Maybe we could pack up a few boatloads of bottled water and send it to countries in need. Why not? If I knew how to arrange it I gladly would.

    Thanks for the food–or should I say water–for thought 🙂

    • Hi Leah,

      I didn’t know about the prozac and prescription drug issue, what is that about? Do ‘they’ really put drugs in the water? Fluoride is controversial here too, it never seems to get resolved.

      In the UK we don’t normally have the high temperatures for so many months as you do. I can imagine how important a cold bottle of water is when you’re out and about, a necessity rather than an accessory, but every indoor shopping mall here is always filled with bottle carriers, even on our normally chilly UK days.

      I know I don’t drink enough water and am trying to get into the habit. But this week especially. I have been very aware of how fortunate I am to turn on the tap and have clean water pour out.

      I like the idea of sending some bottles to those who need it. I’ll join you. Anyone out there know what we should do? I’ll have a look on the ‘Change’ site…I’m sure there’s some help on there. I’ll get back to you if I find any ways to do it, Leah. meanwhile I’ll pop down stairs for a glass of ‘tap’, I’ve a lot of writing to do…

  3. Dia

    Hi Linda,

    I personally drink water from the sink. To me it tastes good. I have heard that over 1 billion people don’t have clean water, it is really sad… Thanks for sharing

  4. Pingback: Marketing a United Message on Blog Action Day: Water - - Business Branding Strategies

Leave a Reply

